Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) and driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) are serious crimes that have far-reaching consequences to your liberty, your driver’s license and your wallet.
Impaired Driving is Aggressively Pursued in Virginia
Law Enforcement Officers aggressively pursue suspected impaired drivers. Officers can use several methods to determine if a driver is impaired. These methods can include observations by the Officer, field sobriety testing, and breath or blood alcohol content testing. A breath or blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher will result in a DUI charge for persons over the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21, a breath or blood alcohol concentration level of 0.02% and higher will result in a DUI charge. Depending on the results of BAC testing, mandatory minimum punishments may apply which could result in mandatory incarceration and mandatory fines.
If you refuse to perform any tests, your driver's license will be automatically suspended and you will be charged with Refusal, which can be punishable as a civil penalty, or as an additional criminal offense, depending on the circumstances of your arrest.
Penalties Are Severe
- A first conviction for DUI or DUID can result in the following consequences:
- Serving up to 12 months in jail;
- The loss of your driver's license for a year;
- Fines up to $2,500.00;
- A referral to the Virginia Alcohol Safety Program (and associated costs);
- An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle (and associated costs);
- A 6 point violation on your driving record;
- Substantially Increased insurance premiums (SR-22) or inability to secure coverage.
Our knowledgeable and experienced attorneys have over 40 Years of combined experience and know how to ensure that your rights are protected. We have successfully defended DUI cases in both federal and state courts. With significant trial experience, our attorneys have the knowledge, resources and ability to effectively defend your DUI or DUID charge.
We take our oath to provide exemplary service very seriously, and through meticulous preparation and a firm attention to detail, we strive to achieve that goal. If you need a DUI or DUID attorney who is dedicated to your case, contact Jessee, Read & Howard, P.C. today at (276) 628-1089 or schedule an appointment below.
Read more information about penalties for DUI in Virginia.